The International Educational Data Mining Society was founded in July 2011, by the International Working Group on Educational Data Mining. The Society is incorporated as a non-profit corporation in the State of Massachusetts. It has a non-profit tax-exempt status under U.S. Tax Code 501(c)(3) and has been classified by the IRS as a private charity with Status 509(a)(2).

The Society will work towards increasing opportunities for participation and input from the broader EDM community, and maintaining scientific quality and our community’s core values and focus, while setting up an organization that can function smoothly, indefinitely.

The By-laws of the International Educational Data Mining Society can be accessed  here .

The officers of the International Educational Data Mining Society are:

Kenneth KoedingerPresident
Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Mingyu Feng, Treasurer
WestEd, USA


IEDMS Board of Directors:


Rakesh Agrawal
Data Insights Laboratories, USA

Ryan Baker
University of Pennsylvania, USA
Tiffany Barnes
North Carolina State Universty, USA
Michel Desmarais
Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, Canada  

Sidney D’Mello
University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Luc Paquette
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
John Stamper
Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Mykola Pechenizkiy
Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Kalina Yacef
University of Sydney, Australia


Policy Chairperson

Collin Lynch
North Carolina State Universty, USA


Community Liaison

Zachary Pardos
University of California at Berkeley, USA



Behzad Beheshti (JEDM)
Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, Canada
Paul Salvador Inventado (IEDMS)
California State University Fullerton, USA



Stephen Fancsali
Carnegie Learning, Inc., USA